Share Sites

Share your site with others and work on it collaboratively.  You can control who can access your site and the pages they have access to. With Google Sites, you will be able to:

  • Control who can view and edit your sites.
  • Share your entire site or only the pages you want.
  • Collaborate on a site with your friends.

Getting Started

Share Your Sites

Share a Site With Individuals

By default, your site is private and only visible to you. You can share your site with others by doing the following:

  1. Make sure you are not editing a page (if you see the Save or Cancel button, you are in editing mode). If you are, click Save or Cancel to exit.
  2. Click on the Share button located at the upper-right corner of the screen.

  3. Click the box under Add people and enter the Rebelmail address of individual (or enter in multiple addresses, separated by commas). You can also click Choose from contacts to select people in your Rebelmail contact list. 
  4. Next to the e-mail addresses, choose from the following access level:
    • Can edit: Invitees can create, edit, and delete pages in your site.
    • Can view: Invitees can view pages in your site but cannot make any changes.
    • Is owner: Can do everyone users with 'Can edit' access can do plus change sharing permission, change site themes and layout, change site name, and delete the site.
  5. Optionally, add a message to your invitation and click Share & save. An e-mail invitation will be sent to the invitees.

Share a Site With a Google Group

If you are a part of a Google Group, you can share your site with group members through the group's e-mail address. As people are removed from or added to the group, access to the site is adjusted accordingly. To share a site with a Google Group, do the following:

  1. Make sure you are not editing a page (if you see the Save or Cancel button, you are in editing mode). If you are, click Save or Cancel to exit.
  2. Click on the Share button located at the upper-right corner of the screen.

  3. Click the box under Add people and enter in the Google Group e-mail address.
  4. Next to the e-mail addresses, choose from the following access level:
    • Can edit: Invitees can create, edit, and delete pages in your site.
    • Can view: Invitees can view pages in your site but cannot make any changes.
    • Is owner: Can do everyone users with 'Can edit' access can do plus change sharing permission, change site themes and layout, change site name, and delete the site.
  5. Make sure Notify people via email is checked.
  6. Optionally, add a message to your invitation and click Share & save. An e-mail invitation will be sent to the group.

Note: If group members do not see the shared site in their My Site List, have them click on the link in the e-mail invitation.

Share a Site With Everyone

You can share your site so that anyone with the site's URL can access it. This setting is great for sharing a non-private site with a large group of people. To share your site with everyone, do the following:

  1. Make sure you are not editing a page (if you see the Save or Cancel button, you are in editing mode). If you are, click Save or Cancel to exit.
  2. Click on the Share button located at the upper-right corner of the screen.

  3. Click Change under Who has access.

  4. Select from one of these four visibility options that best suit your needs:

  5. If you would have selected one of the UNLV options, you can also add editing access by checking the box next to Allow anyone within UNLV to edit.
  6. Click Save.  Depending on the visibility option you have selected, people accessing the site might need to sign in with their Rebelmail account.

Share a Site at the Page Level

Page-level sharing lets you control who can view or edit your site on a per page basis. Using page-level sharing, you can keep some pages private for specific users while make other pages public for everyone to see. For example, you could allow your classmates to view one set of pages, allow a few of them edit another set of pages, and keep the rest of the pages private only to yourself.

Step 1: Enable page-level sharing

By default, this feature is turned off and can only be enabled by site owners.  To turn on page-level sharing, do the following:

  1. Make sure you are not editing a page (if you see the Save or Cancel button, you are in editing mode). If you are, click Save or Cancel to exit.
  2. Click on the Share button located at the upper-right corner of the screen.

  3. Click on the Enable page-level permissions at the upper right corner of the screen.

  4. A window will pop up, click on Turn on Page-Level Permissions.

Step 2: Set permission for a specific page

Now that you have enabled page-level permission, you can add people to your site and change their permission for individual pages. Before a person can view or edit a specific page, he or she must first be added at the site level (see the sections on share a site with individuals above for instructions). Once you have added people at the site level, you can control their permission for each page by doing the following:

  1. From the Sharing and Permission page, you will see your site hierarchy to the left, click on the page you wish to set the permission for.

  2. By default, each page inherits the sharing permission you set for your site. So if you gave Jane editing access for the site, she will also have editing access for this page. To have this page use different permission, click Change next to Use the same permissions and members as the site.

  3. A window will pop up. Under Use custom permissions, choose from the following:
    • Use the same permissions: Select this option to allow this page to inherit all of your site-level permissions
    • Add new users to this page: Select this option if you want this page should be visible to new people you add to your site.
    • Do not add new users to this page: Select this option if you want this page to be hidden from new users added at the site level. If you later want to allow more people to view this page, you will have to return to this page and add them.
  4. Click Save.
  5. You can now set each person's access permission for this page by using the drop-down menu next to their e-mail addresses. You can also remove their access for this page clicking on the X icon to the right of their e-mail addresses. This will also prevent them from accessing any subpages.

  6. Click Save changes to save your changes.

To learn more about Google Sites, please visit the Google sites help page.